What Is Click Through Rate Optimization (CTR)?

Click through rate is a measurement of visitors who see your links and the amount of them who click on them.

The key performance metric is measured by dividing clicks and impressions then multiplying by 100.

An example might look like this.

CTR = (300/1350) * 100 = 22.2%

CTR is a significant digital marketing number when running Google ads, SEO (search engine optimization), and email marketing.

The click-through rate metric is essential and will help you track your website traffic and user interaction.

You can track pages on the site that are optimized for conversions.

The higher the CTR, the more likely a website visitor might convert into a paying customer.

Optimizing your web page titles and meta descriptions can give you a good CTR and increase the visitor count.

Website Click Through Rates

Website metrics refer to clicks, click-through rates, and percentage of traffic to your website or paid ads.

If your website has a low click through rate optimization, this can be a few things like website speed, copy/content, and site structure.

Google has put interest in websites with a right click-through rate.

It tells search engines for people to find the information you are providing is easy to access and delivers value.

Some industry leaders are whispering that a good click through rate is as valuable if not more valuable than a backlink.

Free SEO Website Audit

website-click-through-rate

Website Click Through Rates

Website metrics refer to clicks, click-through rates, and the percentage of traffic to your website or paid ads.

If your website has a low CTR, this can be a few things like website speed, copy/content, and site structure.

Google has put interest in the website with a reasonable click-through rate. It tells search engines for people to find the information you are providing is easy to access and delivers value.

Some industry leaders are whispering that a right click-through rate is as valuable if not more valuable than a backlink.

What is the difference between clicks and click-through rate?

When measuring a website, email, or paid advertising, two very similar metrics are “Clicks” and “Click-through rate”.

Often confused as being the same, but the two are quite different. Let’s clarify what each metric stands for and understand how knowing the difference can benefit your project’s success.

 

Let’s Talk About Clicks

Let’s say someone lands on a blog post on your website about plumbing.

You happen to own a plumbing company. In the blog post, you create a CTA (call to action) button offering your services.

A click is tracked by how many times someone clicks on the button.

We can track this by setting up a goal in Google analytics. Each time the button is triggered, we follow it as a click.

Let’s Talk About Click-Through Rate 

Click-through rate is measured by how many people saw your blog post and opened it and then clicked the link button for your plumbing services.

If 500 people see the blog post, and 200 open to read it and 100 people click your link button you would have a click-through rate of 50%.

Click Rate: This is the percentage of people who clicked a link in your email out of the people who were delivered your email. 

Click-Through Rate: This is the percentage of people who clicked a link in your email out of the people who opened your email.

 

For Example:

Total Delivered: 500
Total Opened: 300
Total Link Click: 200

Click Rate: (200/500)*100 = 40%
Click Through Rate: (200/300)*100 = 66%

click-through-rate

Engagement VS Links

The web is ever-changing, and what’s working yesterday isn’t working today.

Google is the gatekeeper and what they favor is the gospel.

Link building has been a critical factor in growing website traffic.

It shows Google that your site’s information is valuable and other websites with authority link back to your content.

Links are still influential in ranking your site in Google.

Engagements and traffic have become the links for your website to move up the rankings.

Building authority and influencing through knowledge is what Google and other search engines are focused on now.

Web Design Strategic Planning

WAYOUT Digital Marketing is the best choice for web design. We’re a team of passionate, experienced professionals who are dedicated to helping businesses grow through digital marketing.

Our mission is to help our clients achieve their goals by providing them with cutting-edge technology and strategies that will drive traffic, increase sales, and build brand awareness.

Atlanta web development

Are You Tired Of Spending So Much Money On Digital Marketing Agencies With No (ROI) Return On Investment?

Digital marketing is a huge part of your business, but you don't have the time or resources to manage it yourself. That's why you need WAYOUT Digital - we'll take care of all your digital marketing needs so you can focus on what matters most.

We are a full-service digital agency that specializes in SEO, PPC, and social media management for small businesses like yours. Our team has over 10 years of experience working with local businesses just like yours and we know how to get results!

Contact us today to learn more about our affordable monthly packages and see if we’re the right fit for your business!

Fast-Track Your Business Growth Today

Wayout Digital
30 S Clayton St #1005 Lawrenceville, GA 30046 30046
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday9:00 am – 5:00 pm
Saturday, Sundayclosed
+1-404-599-2586